Makeshift & Modern Mama

…because motherhood doesn't come with an instruction manual

Mommyhood at it’s finest….

Whoever says that the older a kid gets, the easier it gets is full of complete and total crap.

I have been battling hardcore with an-almost-three-year-old-monster-of-a-toddler. Don’t get me wrong, she’s a great kid. She really is. She’s likeable and sweet and usually withholds her crazy tantrums for just me. However, IT IS EXHAUSTING. It feels like every day is a battle. It feels like I’m always keeping her from injuring herself (because she literally has NO FEAR). I feel like I’m constantly trying new discipline techniques..try encouraging, try being stern, try taking things away. And they all work…for a bit. By the end of the day, I am so frazzled and fried, I just want to lock myself in my room with a large bottle of wine and never come out. I hate raising my voice at her and I hate feeling like I’m losing my cool.

It doesn’t help that she feels the need to climb, pull, tug, jump on me all the time…i feel like there’s nowhere I can go to just collect myself. It’s just me and her all the time and it kinda makes me want to go a little crazy.

Mamas, especially ones that are with their kids through the day, what do you do to calm yourself when you start getting overwhelmed? Any creative techniques for discipline that seem to work with INSANELY active toddlers? HELP!

20120419-142146.jpg

Good ol’ makeup lesson with Zo.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Mommyhood at it’s finest….

  1. My little guy is very, very active. I have found that he really loves to be outside and thrives when he is outdoors. We spend a lot of time at the park and just hanging out in the backyard. The more active he is, the more he tends be calm indoors.

    When Eli had a timeout, I will very frequently take my own time out. I close the door to my room and take a moment to vent and then recenter.

    The two’s are a tough age!

  2. Have a two year old and five year old. I am not with them all the time, but I do feel your pain…. haha, we love them, but they can try your nerves…

Leave a comment